Purchasing and leasing out an aircraft

Hi guys

I’m after a bit advice/direction. I’m thinking, JUST THINKING !!! At the moment of purchasing a ra-aus reg’ aircraft and leasing it back to my flying school. Because of the Jab motor restrictions at the moment my flying school only has 1 aircraft and that is very close to needing an engine overhaul. I only have 14hrs under my belt. I need to finish my pilot cert’ then I need another 10hrs for my cross country endorsement. So owning an aircraft would cheapen things that way. But I’m a total newbie really, SO!

Any thoughts?

Does the monetary return cover all or most of the cost associated with the aircraft operation?

What to look out for?

How much should I get back per hour to cover costs?

Any hidden cost?

I would have hanger fees,

Insurance {does it cost more to insure for an aircraft used for training?}

Maintenance costs.

I’m sure I’m missing things. Am I dreaming or is it possible?

Cheers

Rick

It has some traps.

You have a plane that you have no real idea how the airframe has been, is being knocked about. This is one of the real advantages in owning your own plane. YOU have control

You can't get the plane when you want it yourself.

Yes the insurance will cost more.

RAAus type planes will not have the life in a training environment say a Cessna 150 will. They can become pretty second hand real quick.

YOU would need to trust the person doing the maintenance. The school might want the least cost repair. You might want it done right (or better).

A lot of people have done this before. (including myself)

The more opinions you get the better the decision

My general advice is DON'T.

IF you want to share costs pick the ones you go into a syndicate with as a better (but still not without it's problems) option.

Anticipate the problems and have a full understanding with the operator BEFORE they happen.