What to ask when buying an engine?

Marty_d

Hey folks,

I'm looking at a 912ULS for the 701. Second hand, removed from a training aircraft at 2100 hours.

I've been told the following:

- Engine age: approx. 6-7 years.

- Rubbers: replaced around 2 years ago.

- Leak down: worst reading 76/80.

- Oil test: 25 parts per million (I assume this is the test for metal particles)

- Fuel pump: replaced prior to rubbers so due next couple of years.

- Gearbox: needs 1000hr test so probably $400-500 there.

- Serial number is in the 6700 range so would have the new casing (if I've read the manual correctly).

- Apart from one flight when new, never used 100LL.

All this, to me, says reasonable condition for the age and the price. However I am a total newbie when it comes to engines.

What other questions should I be asking?

Thanks, Marty

New case was after 2006, so all is good there.

Hours are relative to price but I think 2100 is ok if leakdowns are ok. (BIG bonus that no avgas was run through it)

You might want to get the g/box inspection/ overhaul prices sorted before purchase. (Maybe strip and quote)

Rotax parts prices are horrendous. It could go 3 times the price what you expect but again, no avgas is good.

It should have the soft start modules from factory.....

The original oil pressure sender was the black honeywell around that time...... these are known to fail and they are not made anymore.

The latest "keller" works well for a few hundred dollars.

Would be good if it was still in the aircraft and running to inspect it....

There is a training aircraft locally coming up to 2000 hrs so it may have the engine for sale also.....

Thanks for your replies.