VFR>>IMC • Immediate 180?

Garfly

As a VFR only pilot, I've long had doubts about the common advice about chucking an immediate U-ey to escape inadvertent IMC.  Of course, every situation's going to be different but I've wondered if the better bet might sometimes be to avoid any ambitious manoeuvring; limiting excursions to a gentle climb or descent [depending] wings-level on the AH - at least until I'd settled the nerves and thought the situation through (or, touch aluminium, regained the natural horizon).  

It's never happened so I don't really know what it'd be like or what I'd do in the moment.  Suffice to say I found this new Avweb article useful for my thinking on the subject.

https://www.avweb.com/flight-safety/accidents-ntsb/accident-probe-course-reversal-in-imc/

VFR Into IMC: Course Reversals

BackupHorizon_iPhone_MikeHart-300x300.jp

According to the FAA’s Flight Training Handbook (FAA-H-8083-3B), “The first steps necessary for surviving an encounter with IMC by a VFR pilot are as follows:

• Recognition and acceptance of the seriousness of the situation and the need for immediate remedial action;
  • Maintaining control of the airplane; and
  • Obtaining the appropriate assistance in getting the airplane safely on the ground.

When performing a turn after inadvertently encountering IMC, the IFH tells us, “A shallow bank takes very little vertical lift from the wings resulting in little if any deviation in altitude. It may be helpful to turn a few degrees and then return to level flight if a large change in heading must be made. Repeat the process until the desired heading is reached. This process may relieve the progressive overbanking that often results from prolonged turns.”

• Informative 1