What do people "really think" of BFR's in RAA A. Helpful or B. Waste of Time and Money ?

SSCBD

I have been flying for over 30 years. Still alive. 

I have never had a CFI ever say anything that I was doing wrong. (except they like to fly at this airspeed on downwind or finals or they like to have cruise power set at this number etc)  All totally personal preferences of the Gods. ( Not having a go any any single CFI ). Never learned or was told anything new.  

This question is really for those who have been flying a while, not new pilots. 

Do we need BFR's and do they do anything for pilots that say fly 50 hours plus a year except cost money and time.

I am Not saying that for the guys that do say 10 hours or 15 hours a year for example that may need some practice - but they should know that themselves.

How many of you feel they are required or should be optional with 50 ish hours flown a year. 

Not looking to get into a GA vs RAA question - This is a strictly RAA BFR question. 

On topic answers welcome.  And your personal experience and reasons - Please.

• Like 2

It is possible for somebody to develop bad habits they are not aware of and if left unchecked could result in a disaster. By having a BFR the instructor might pick that up and say "Jeez, you should stop doing that before you kill yourself". One may also get rusty in a particular area, say, forced landings and the instructor may pick up on that. I sure think that BFRs are a good thing. Maybe we should do it for driver's licences so dickheads learn to indicate when leaving a roundabout and not changing lanes in a roundabout?

Edited by Jabiru7252
  • Like 4
  • Agree 3